Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
gdevelop5:all-features:storage [2019/07/07 11:09]
ddabrahim added explanation how to clear storage
gdevelop5:all-features:storage [2019/07/17 21:32] (current)
4ian
Line 3: Line 3:
 Games can store data, such as the player progress. See [[gdevelop5:​tutorials:​storage-action-explained|this guide]] for detailed explanations and examples. Games can store data, such as the player progress. See [[gdevelop5:​tutorials:​storage-action-explained|this guide]] for detailed explanations and examples.
  
-<​note>​Storage actions will store all the data into **internal storage**. If you want to write or read from files, read [[gdevelop5:​all-features:​filesystem|the page about File system]] (only for Windows, macOS, Linux).</​note>​+<​note>​Storage actions will store all the data into **internal storage** ​(persisted after the game is closed). If you want to write or read from files, read [[gdevelop5:​all-features:​filesystem|the page about File system]] (only for Windows, macOS, Linux).</​note>​
  
-## Clear Storage+## Clear the storage during a preview
  
-Data is stored permanently in internal storage of the preview window. When we preview our game it can be sometime uncomfortable because we may would like this data to be not present at the beginning of the game when we run previewso we can test our game as it were played for the first time. In order to achieve ​this, we need to clear storage ​and this is how we do it:+Data is stored permanently in the internal storage of the preview window, which is persisted across previews and even after GDevelop is closed (like in an exported game) 
 + 
 +When we preview our game it can be sometimes useful ​to have the data resetlike if it'​s ​the first time the game is launchedTo do this, you can clear the storage:
  
   - In the top bar of the preview window select **View** -> **Toggle developer tools**.   - In the top bar of the preview window select **View** -> **Toggle developer tools**.
Line 16: Line 18:
   - To clear the data, click '​file:'​ with the right mouse button and choose '​**Clear**'​   - To clear the data, click '​file:'​ with the right mouse button and choose '​**Clear**'​
  
-You can now close the preview window ​and when you run preview again, the data will be no longer present in the preview until you write the data in to storage again. +You can now close the preview window. When running the preview again, the stored ​data will be gone.
- +
- +
- +